February 2008 Archives

press & protest: 415-864-5153  sf@worldcantwait.org   myspace.com/sfbaycantwait
smallflyer.jpg

Download & distribute a  2-sided flyer for feb. 11-15


EMERGENCY 24-HOUR VIGIL

Support the Berkeley City Council Stand! calling on USMC Recruiters to leave Berkeley. Bring tents, sleeping bags, food, your family & friends, your signs, music. (A coordinating meeting was held on 2-10-08 including World Can't Wait, CODEPINK, The ANSWER Coalition and Veterans For Peace)
Monday  2-11-08
     7PM CODEPINK organized encampment with World Can't Wait
Tuesday 2-12-08
     5AM World Can't Wait & CODEPINK counter-protest right-wing press event
     12noon protest coalition press conference/rally led by CODEPINK
     5PM City Council Meeting demonstration. This is a national media event.
City Hall lawn, 2134 MLK Jr. Way, Berkeley (2 blocks from Downtown Berkeley BART).


SHUT DOWN THE BERKELEY MARINE RECRUITING STATION!
Join World Can’t Wait, Code Pink, high school and college students, anti-war veterans and many others. Nonviolent Civil Resistance all day beginning at 7AM. Public debate.
Friday  2-15-08
     7AM - 7PM demonstration & action led by WORLD CAN'T WAIT and joined by others
     3PM Rally and Convergence. Waterboarding re-enactment.
64 Shattuck Sq. at University Ave, Berkeley (2 blocks from downtown Berkeley BART).

The city council members and Mayor Tom Bates need to hear from you now in support of their resolution declaring the Marine Corps Recruiting Center to be "unwelcome" in Berkeley. Email or call them your support
. Please CC us so we can publish your support (names and emails deleted for publishing): sf@worldcantwait.org
Mayor Tom Bates                   510-981-7100   mayor@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 1   Linda Maio             510-981-7110   lmaio@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 2   Darryl Moore          510-981-7120   dmoore@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 3   Maxwell Anderson  510-981-7130   manderson@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 4   Dona Spring           510-981-7140   spring@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 5   Laurie Capitelli       510-981-7150   lcapitelli@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 6   Betty Olds             510-981-7160   olds@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 7   Kriss Worthington   510-981-7170   kworthington@ci.berkeley.ca.us
District 8   Gordon Wozniak     510-981-7180   GWozniak@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Thousands of support letters sampling: webpage PDF for printing

2-1-08 Shut Down: chained to door, blocking, arrest
Photo gallery | Press | Report
Video: Shutting down the Berkeley USMC Recruitment Center 2-1-08


1-31-08 Shut Down and Water-boarding re-enactment

Photo gallery | Press | Report
Video: Berkeley Can't Wait for Recruiters to Leave!


About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from February 2008 listed from newest to oldest.

January 2008 is the previous archive.

March 2008 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

National Website


THE WORLD CAN'T WAIT!

Local Contact


sf@worldcantwait.net

415-864-5153

DONATE!

Donations via PayPal
are not tax deductible.